Seen in Saskatchewan

Offa Rex

image.jpeg

There’s always gotta be something ‘con,’ and when it comes to cats, it’s their love of bird meat. Damn cats. This is Buster Brown up in one of the three oaks outside our livingroom window. He’s laying in wait. So far I’ve only seen him get a few feathers. I’m told he has had successes.

Perhaps a bell around his neck would help. It’s not as if the rest of the cat colony wouldn’t control the rodent population around the farmyard.

—><—

CKUA was playing this morning as I did some stretching in front of the window, on my yoga mat. After 10 neckrolls I lit a candle and took several deep, slow breaths while gazing at the flame. A beautiful voice came on the radio and as I listened I began to weep. SO BEAUTIFUL it made me cry — what is that!

The Gardener, by Offa Rex.

I’m not even sure what the song was about. A gardener, by any chance?

10 thoughts on “Offa Rex

  1. I usually spend one night a week listening to and streaming music. Videos on YouTube. It’s better than a recored, cd, or radio, because you see the performers and can watch what they do and with each other to meld, make a band sound especially interesting. I often find music from years ago, to listen and find something new (like when you read a book, again). Last night I listened to several songs and performances by Sinnead O’Connor, and had new appreciation for her tearing up the picture of the Pope, which you get the context of in later songs. It was also great to hear Kris Kristofferson being surrounded by the artistry of a generations younger band, which brought his old music to new audience. He’s 83!! and struggles with memory loss. You could see that the music made him more lucid as he went along, as they say music does for people with brain disorders.

    I love YouTube for music. Where else would I, on demand, hear the music and the artists of my youth?

    Like

  2. I listened, beautiful. Brought the clear voices of The Rankins to mind. I can’t get enough of them. Will check out more of Offa Rex.
    The cat looks humongous and so beautifully healthy.

    Like

  3. Music, the music I love, when I listen to it, opens me up to the universe, and to myself. Music opens the flower of my soul. I often cry when I listen to music. Life is unbearably sweet at times.

    Like

  4. I was listening to the Andrews Sisters this morning. There they were when I turned the radio on, so there I left it. It was kind of great.

    Are we the only culture that made war a fun party?

    Like

  5. Ahh well. I think it was not the singer or the song. It was you.
    Our ability to cry is so misunderstood. Surely it was given to us for a purpose? Maybe to make-up for not getting what all the other animals got: a wisdom and acceptance, to do what they can until they can’t. We have to cry because compared to animals, who can’t, we are so damn dumb.

    Like

  6. I remember being so shocked when the smallest of my Barclays brought down a blue jay. It was bigger than her.

    XO
    WWW

    Like

Speak to me, dahlink.