Thought I Posted This Yesterday

IMG_0636 Laurie Lee’s memoir of his growing-up days in an English village is chockful of sensual writerly delights, alongside good humour and appreciation for days long gone.

From Wikipedia: ‘Cider with Rosie is a 1959 book by Laurie Lee. It is the first book of a trilogy that continues with As I Walked Out One Midsummer Morning and A Moment of War. It has sold over six million copies worldwide.’

Cider with Rosie is worldfamous, but totally new to me — once again reminding me to be humble, as my knowledge — even about things I love, like books — is so little.

I’ll be keeping an eye out for this:

Laurie Lee takes you into a world as detailed and large as if you were there yourself. You can almost see it, hear it, taste it. I was a little slow to appreciate the “very full” writing style but, as I made my way toward the “obligatory” (not really, but I try) 100th page, Lee’s life in that small village in Cotswold came alive.

->->-><-<-<-

So many wonderful things yet to discover. It’s endless. How do people lose their sense of wonder and appreciation? Life is … okay, here comes the platitude … life is full of surprises.

A statement that isn’t a platitude: Life is Right in Any Case. It came from a movie, Kama Sutra, and was the words of a woman whose lover had just been executed by elephant. Longtime readers, please accept my apology for repeating myself. I will have mentioned it before.

IMG_0668

Today’s kitchenry:

Classic Stewed Cabbage

Chocolate Chocolate-Chip Cookies

I’d leave you the links, but just discovered these recipes haven’t been posted to the online collection. This happens often and is a surprise every time, because I think it was done long ago! Ooh, I’ll just go look it up on the website! Yeesh. Guess not.

4 thoughts on “Thought I Posted This Yesterday

  1. Kama Sutra: Is that the Mira Nair film? Nah.

    I like her movie Namesake though, from the Jhumpa Lahiri story. I liked it so much I bought the DVD when I found it at Goodwill. I suppose I’ve watched it four or five times. Maybe time to watch it again. “Namesake” is reference to the son, but this is the mother’s movie. The actress is luminous. Well and Irfan Khan.

    I think you’ll have to put the cabbage recipe online. I want to make it. I also wanted to make a couple dozen chocolate chocolate chip cookies, but I did the responsible thing and bought ONE at a nearby deli/bakery.

  2. Marms,

    Yes Mira Nair’s film; not a very good one, as I recall, but that one spoken part has stuck with me.

    ‘Knowing Love, I will allow all things to come and go,
    To be as supple as the wind, and take everything that comes with great courage.
    As Rasa would say to me, “Life is right in any case.”
    My heart is as open as the sky.’

    I’ll watch for Namesake. Thanks for the tip.

    I will put the two recipes online. Can’t afford to lose them if our house burns down!

    I ate too many of those cookies on Monday and perhaps that’s what triggered my “lost” day when I awoke at 5:30 a.m. with a migraine and took a pill to get back to sleep. Yesterday was a “down” day, spent in my housecoat, much of it binge-watching Season 2 episodes of Orange is the New Black.

    -Kate

So whatcha thinkin'?

