Not an Everyday Day

Up at 6:30, out of the house by 8:15, sitting in front of the mechanic’s before he arrived to open up, and strolling around town for something to do till it was time to pick up the truck.

three deer

There isn’t a lot open before nine. I’d already had coffee and toast, so didn’t want to sit in a restaurant. I dropped off a book through the wall slot but couldn’t pick up new ones that await, because the library wouldn’t open till 10.

I walked around town for a bit, running into Everett on his way to work. We had a wee visit while I accompanied him for several blocks, to his place of employment. By then businesses were open so I could stop at the liquor store and buy a couple bottles of shiraz for supper (company’s coming), and at the drugstore for some sunscreen (taking your advice, Sandy). When our friendly neighbourhood mechanic called to say the truck was ready to go, I got it and drove to the store for a few groceries.

I arrived home shortly after, to discover the coffee pot on. Good thing I wasn’t gone for the entire day. I do have to go back in at 4:30 to get Emil, who wants to spend “a long weekend” with us. Between now and then I’ve got to whip the house into shape and figure out what to make for supper.

Wine: check.
Dessert, rhubarb pie: check.
Nibblies, chicken wings: check.

I’m not one of those people who can throw together, without a second thought, a meal fit for company. Others make it look easy. For me, it’s pressure. What else will we have? Potatoes and a beef roast, my partner suggests. That combo makes him happy, though it bores the hell out of me. I like to make something special when we have guests; something that’s a treat for me as well as, I hope, for them. The chicken wings and the rhubarb pie will satisfy my needs in that department; the beef and potatoes will suit my mister; Emil will be here and he’s just happy to get fed (and he really wants to see Bev and Paul); and our friends Bev and Paul? Whatever we serve, they’ll say it was tasty and thank you very much, as polite folks always do. If they’re anything like me, they’ll simply be glad someone else — anyone else — is doing the cooking.

I’d also better haul some wood up to the house and go find lawn chairs, as Bev is a bonfire-lovin’ gal and tonight could be just right for that.

***Photo*** We went for a drive one evening to see how the crops were coming along, and these three mule deer got up from their rest and stood waiting for us to leave. We saw a lot of deer that night.

So whatcha thinkin'?

