Birdcatraz

Aunt Alma’s copper collection, among other items, had to be removed from the window ledge so that the layer of dust and dirt could be wiped from the ledge itself.

Looks like someone has more dusting to do. That’s the trouble: “Once you start … .”

Don’t you love a peek at someone else’s living space?

I could look at other people’s fridge doors forever.
Show me what’s on the shelves inside and I’m yours.
What a nerd.

In other nerdly news, birdlovers may like to know that our birdsaver continues to work beautifully. Only one bird has hit the window since we hung the birdsaver many weeks ago. That’s a considerable reduction from approximately three a day.

birdsavers blowing

When there is a storm, the parachute cords blow from side to side (as seen above) but they don’t tangle. If it’s more windy than usual their ends tap on the glass, yet surprisingly the sound isn’t irritating. It seems as if hanging the birdsaver on the living-room window has also done the trick for the dining-room window, without placing cords there. Noticing one window has alerted the birds to the windows nearby.

I stood inside the doorway on the back step yesterday afternoon and listened to a storm coming in from the west. From a light breeze to a loud blow it went in a few short moments; it was enough to make me fear for my flower garden and for my loved ones on their way to the other farm to see the three little pigs that are being raised there. Emil loves pigs but is afraid of chickens. Don’t ask me why. He eats both with voracious vehemence.

The murderous black clouds dropped a hard light rain into the yard but otherwise passed us by. Woo hoo! We need some heat and sun now. Do stop the rai-ain!

12 thoughts on “Birdcatraz

  1. “Don’t you love a peek at someone else’s living space?”

    OK, confession time! I recently took up crocheting, love it, although I am not much good at it, I don’t have to be, part of the charm I think. Anyway, I joined a bunch of Facebook groups focused on crochet, and the women (mostly women) post pictures of their creations. Although I find the creations interesting, my guilty secret is that I love seeing their living spaces, which are usually the backdrop for their creations. What a bonus.

    I like the birdsaver! Did you write an entry about it that I missed? How did you do it?

  2. Hi Maggie,
    I’ve mentioned it before. It’s easy to make, just go to birdsavers.com for instructions. All it requires is a stapler for attaching the birdsaver outside, and parachute cord. The strings should hang a specific distance apart so the birds can’t miss them and don’t try to fly between them.
    Spread the word! Far too many birds crash into windows and die every day.
    The birdsavers can also be purchased from the website.

    If you and I find glimpses of strangers’ living spaces intriguing, so do many others.

    -Kate

  3. Ooooh yes. Open some closet and cupboard drawers while yer at it.

    Odd how often I have exactly the same weather as you. We had that storm too, just after I took a picture of sky looking dramatic. Very intense. I had no sooner stepped back inside than it hit. And in a few moments it was gone just as suddenly.

  4. I’ll email a warnng next time.

    About Stumblejumpers. I’ve done that one, and Stubblehumpers too. Helpfully, Google asked if I meant you!

  5. After all the Spring cleaning, the house still needs to be cleaned. It is a never ending process. I’ve just watched my sister clear out her house before moving. Although I have plenty of nicknacks some more have found their way into my home. The process got me to thinking about downsizing and what to do with all this stuff! It also has given me anxiety coming to the reality of what a huge effort moving is. My house is great for a family home but it is too big and has too many levels for the older person, so downsizing would be the most logical. Pretty sure the younger crowd is not interested in figures, teacups, and china etc that I got from my mom.

    Hot humid and rainy here. Out on my morning walk had to scurry home when it started to thunder and lighting.

  6. SecretAgentWoman,

    My great-great aunt bought them in France when she was a nurse there during the Second World War. Unless it was the First World War; I seem to get that wrong all the time, and Aunt Reta has to correct me.

    In your line of work, you must get more than a glimpse into people! Still, “minor” details like what they choose to have in their surroundings, what they wear … these things do tell us something, don’t they?

    -K.

  7. Teresa,
    Just like life, a constant work-in-progress, that’s what a house/home is. Even if you are never there, it will still need dusting!
    I have a lot of things that belonged to my great-aunt, my great-great aunt, my great-uncle, my grandparents, my mother, and their older relatives … an embarrassment of riches, one might say … and of everything I own, besides the photos and written memories in my possession, they are the only items that matter to me. I could never carry them all out if there was a fire. But they’re what I’d mourn the loss of, and I am hoping that my nieces and nephew will one day take an interest in them. After all, I didn’t value those things till I was about 40; so there is time. Fingers crossed, because these items belong with family, not in a secondhand store. -Kate

  8. I won’t be boxing anything up too soon. Bid goodbye to our family home this morning, the title will be transferred to the new owners today. After going through some of the culling with my sister, I realised it is stressful and a awful burden to be left to the kids. The kids can and will have their pick once the time comes. However I am not sure if I will ever convince the spouse we need to downsize.

  9. Teresa,
    Is this where your dad was living? I assume so.
    Yes, moving/selling is a huge job, worse when there are decisions to be made about what goes where and to whom.
    My dad figures that after his last couple moves, he’s got his possessions pared down as much as possible. But he knows it’ll still be a hurdle when and if he moves again. “You’ll have to come and help,” he says, always thinking ahead.
    I hope your spouse listens to you!
    -Kate

So whatcha thinkin'?

