Out to Lunch

As the tractor approached I peered as closely as I could, across the distance, through the window of the cab. Who was driving? There were two pieces of motorized equipment out there and I’d brought lunch for one* of the operators. field one

It wasn’t till he stopped the machine and climbed down that I recognized the man as my brother-in-law. We picked our way across the ruts and stones toward each other.

“I can never tell which one of you is which, when you’re on machinery,” I said. “Good thing I’ve never flashed my tits at you!”

Bruce didn’t say anything, but got a mischievous look (not uncommon with him). Perhaps he was thinking, “Well now, what would be so bad about that!” or (and I sure hope not) “That’s what you think!”

I carried on toward my destination, knowing a certain someone would be plenty hungry. Blackbirds in trees along the quarter-section’s perimeter were so loud I thought of monkeys in a jungle.

Don’t ever believe Saskatchewan is all flat. I went up a hill and over a dale before reaching Voratio.

field three

He walked to meet me and stuffed a ham and cheese sandwich into his mouth while I asked a stupid question.

“You said you finished seeding this last night. So what are you doing now?”

The learning never ends. They are spreading clover seed, which will come up … next spring? Later in this season? I’m never sure I get it right. As a matter of fact, I’ve frequently gotten it wrong, alas.

A grateful thank you, a quick kiss, and we both turned back — he to his tractor and his work, I to my car and my afternoon of doing exactly as I please (if doing dishes, sweeping floors, warming up leftovers for supper, baking sandwich buns, and spraying tent caterpillars can be considered pleasing. I guess they are when they’re your own ideas.).

At the top of a hill I took this photo looking toward all three of our vehicles, which you can barely see in the distance:

field two

I hadn’t come with the right shoes for trekking across the field, but that didn’t stop me. Not only was I wearing my “get-up,” but am still breaking in those new sandals and wearing leggings tucked into socks that are sprayed with UffDa’s essential oils to help keep the ticks off. Look how dusty my shoes and socks are! Those are black sandals, remember.

field four

*It is just not right to take lunch out to one and not the other, and I don’t like it when that happens. Bruce would be finished here shortly, he said, and never expects me to make his lunch anyway. I insisted he eat one of the sandwiches to keep him going till he got home.

10 thoughts on “Out to Lunch

  1. The part that caught my attention in this post was the flatness of Saskatchewan. I’ve visited a few times and felt a little unnerved by how flat it is. Where I live there is ocean on one side of me and a mountain that stretches the length of the city. So very different!

  2. Birdie,
    Those photos were taken from the bottom of a hill and from the top of a hill. A fairly BIG hill, too! My camera does weird things when it focuses.
    The prairie in the southern part of the province is flat, but here in the parkland the land undulates. There is flat land too, of course, but to my eye most of the land ripples.
    To people from mountainous areas, it still looks flat. That makes sense too, in comparison.
    -Kate

  3. Nice sandals, love the leggings! All dressed up with somewhere to go, :)

    We spray our clothing with a 1% solution of permethrin, shirts, pants socks, and hats. Biting bugs don’t land on any part of our bodies covered by the clothing, but we have to use insect repellent on our hands, necks, and bare parts of our heads. The spraying process requires caution, mask, gloves, long sleeved clothing, but as the chemical dries it bonds with the fabric and becomes inert. Insects avoid anything sprayed with it, they really do.

  4. Maggie,
    I really need to get some of that stuff for the fella’s work clothes, I guess, and then we need to keep work clothes separate from the everyday. Although the everyday are also exposed to ticks and mosquitoes …
    K.

  5. Kate, I got my concentrate from an online equestrian store, from the USA at the time, I couldn’t find it in Canada, although I am sure it is here. I bought 1 litre, a lifetime supply, I use 1 tsp of concentrate to 4 cups of water to get my 1% solution, mix it in the spray bottle and there you have it. Since it is inert it doesn’t affect other clothing. There is a smell though, not too strong, but you can tell which clothes are treated and which are not.

  6. I spend a lot of time trying to convince those who haven’t seen Sask. in person that it is not all flat. Not where I live in the rolling parklands anyway. The problem is that the one dimensional photos we post tend to flatten out the hills and valleys.

  7. Ralph,
    Yup.
    PLUS there is the “relative” thing. A guy from BC was here and we took him to tour around the countryside and I said, “Now see, does this look flat to YOU?” and he said “Yup.”
    In comparison to mountains, yeah, it’s flat.
    But really, it ain’t flat. Except in places. And there, it’s *impressively* flat!
    -Kate

So whatcha thinkin'?

