Trigger Warning: Dead Animals

Thanks to Scott’s cousin Alex in England for this:

“Thought Scott might be interested in this weird thing I saw yesterday when out collecting bins.
I’d not seen this done for years and why it’s done is beyond me.
They’re moles strung up on a barbed wire fence. Must be a strange Cheshire farmers custom.”

53CA34C888C64E8C9F957E829FEC7E6D

Has anyone seen such a thing before? Do you know why it is done? Or is this just a one-off?

***

I’m meeting Karen in town for a coffee at the bakery in 45 minutes, which means I have to wash and dress and be out of the house in half an hour. I think I can do it. Hee! I had to get up and take a pill at 3 a.m., which meant sleeping later than usual. But I thank the heavens for those pills. Having them means I finally slept well last night, that I felt great when I awoke, and could sit on the step with my coffee and curse the dog for the things she’s chewed and dragged up since yesterday and watch the birds on the dugout and be grateful to be exactly where I am.

8 thoughts on “Trigger Warning: Dead Animals

  1. I think that’s some kind of vengeance. I’ve read of cultures that do this with snakes, beheaded and head split open nailed to a tree. Take that, it seems to say.

    Please. What is the medication? So back pain. Life long, now adding age sleeplessness. Even ONE hour more would be amazing with still being reasonably alert next day.

    Where’s that garlic soup recipe that had a toss of chicken to pretend it was anything else?

  2. Marms,
    I was wondering if the fence was electric and the landowner wanted to give coyotes a shock. But they’d get one anyway if they touched the fence, without the moles.
    I’ll email you about the migraine med.
    What garlic soup recipe? Are you thinking of the chicken stew I made the dumplings in?
    -Kate

  3. I live out in the country. (Oklahoma) When people kill a poisonous snake or one that is especially huge it is hung on the fence. It’s just a custom that has been done for generations. I think it is to remind us to be cautious because where there’s one big snake there are more. We had lots of copperheads last year.

  4. Onefeather,
    Ah! Interesting! I often think of certain U.S. states when out walking here, where we have no dangerous animals. Well not really. No poisonous snakes, no alligators. I’ve never seen a wolf or cougar on my walks, though they’ve been spotted in the area. Coyotes and foxes run the other way. Danger around here is more often from being hurt when your vehicle hits a moose on the road.
    -Kate

  5. Marms,
    I didn’t use a recipe: just sautéed chopped garlic, onions and celery, threw in the chicken thighs, added enough water to cover, a couple tablespoons of miso (bean paste)(instead of chicken bouillon or just plain water), and some sage and rosemary. Brought it to a boil, covered it, and simmered it for a couple hours. I’d’ve added carrots if I hadn’t been out of them; and diced potatoes would’ve been good too. -Kate

  6. I did it pretty much like that, except, out of potatoes so cup of Jasmine rice. It’s goood. I would say garlic and chicken are made for each other. I also used six huge cloves to about one lb chicken thighs. And curry mix. It’s so sad: I seem to be inacapable of following a recipe.

  7. Marms,
    Oooh, yes, rice! I’d like that, too.
    It seems that unless one is baking, recipes are just meant to be jumping-off points. The best cooks never follow them closely.
    I don’t claim to be a good cook, though. Just passable.
    -Kate

So whatcha thinkin'?

