Six Snows Since the Crows

Sunday nights seem to have the best television, and some of my favourite programs keep me up later than I really like (or so I say while switching channels to see what’s on after the season finale of “Broadchurch”). By the time “Wolf Hall” was over at 1 a.m. and I went to let Duckie out to do his business, the step was covered with fresh snow. This morning the ground is white. SNOW

The weekend has been cold; on Saturday there were a few snowflakes flying around, and yesterday was chilly too. I went outside but didn’t take my usual brisk “trot” down the road. Fairweather walker, that’s me. Emil and I stayed inside where it’s toasty warm, and he read his three new library books to me.

He was looking forward to a “fun day” this afternoon, he said. He and his “primary caregiver” Tracy are going downtown after lunch. They’re going to stop at a café and just bum around a while.

Me, I’m out of my cosy nest in the bedroom but not sure yet what I’ll do with myself. Usually I bake bread on Mondays but didn’t replenish the whole wheat flour supply during the grocery shop on Friday, so can’t. Maybe a batch of bran muffins would be a good excuse to turn the oven on.

NEST

Cosy nest, still flannel.

6 thoughts on “Six Snows Since the Crows

  1. I have to look away during torture and execution scenes because they stick with me for years. But there is something about British history that always draws me; maybe because it’s so familiar to us here in Canada?
    I am not sure what to make of The Young Pope.
    -Kate

  2. Our ground is back! Lots of rain lately but I’ve never minded being rained on. Of course, living in Ottawa makes that less of a heroic statement than it might be.

  3. Lorna,
    During the months-long tick season, I wish I lived in a city.
    I don’t mind rain either. Sometimes I long for a rain that lasts several days. It seems like years since we’ve had that.
    -Kate

So whatcha thinkin'?

