And Now … Stuart McLean

Hearing the news of Mr McLean’s passing was a bit of a shock. He’d recently announced that he had to undergo a second round of treatment for melanoma, but I was hopeful he’d make it. I have a dear cousin who did, and so why not Stuart, too?

I wrote the biography on STUART MCLEAN that is on the Canadian Encyclopedia website. That meant I had to get in touch with him to verify a few details and fill in several bald spots. We spoke by telephone and communicated via email. Stuart was pleasant and helpful and one thing I haven’t forgotten is his personal discipline. I remember him saying that he had a writing schedule and that on this particular morning he had to get back to it.

We never met, but what I did know of Stuart is that he was a lovely person. And there is nothing to be that is better than that.

4 thoughts on “And Now … Stuart McLean

  1. My mother died of it.

    I was heartbroken when Stuart succumbed.

    Lovely you have such good memories of him.

    XO
    WWW

So whatcha thinkin'?

