A Night in Town

prepping-emils-room-r

I called it “some kind of puke colour,” but am told it’s Dusty Rose. My apologies to all you Dusty Rose lovers.

News of a gunfight and people killed in Cancun sends my heart plowing into my stomach like a rock, imagining the possibility that horrors could befall my Emil. News stories don’t indicate any tourists affected, but now I begin to be anxious for him to get home on Saturday.

Scott is in town putting the second coat of paint on the walls of Emil’s room. I am home thinking about what to do with myself. Dishes, of course; that goes without saying. A walk with SadieSue and Ducky. And — scratching my head — what can I come up with for supper? We ate most of the leftovers yesterday so today I must “create.” Ha.

2pm
“Supper ideas?”
I brought in finger ribs, he said.
“They need cooking differently than last time. Weren’t they the ones?”
Yeah. I’d just season and bake them in a roaster at low heat for the afternoon.

Good ’nuff.
I looked up the cooking of ribs in my Joy of Cooking, just to see what explanations and tips might be found, but Scott is happy with the plainest, easiest way. No complaints from me. I won’t be eating the meat anyway, and His Ravenousness will be satisfied simply to have food.

What a gorgeous day it is! Scott was home at lunchtime and before leaving he was doing something in the Quonset. Looking out the kitchen window, I saw Sadie trotting across the yard with something in her mouth. Something she probably shouldn’t have, I figured. Something from the Quonset. She lay down to nibble on her prize and I stepped out wearing only jeans and a sweater to make sure it wasn’t a stolen item. Sure enough though, it was: one of the running shoes Scott wears while drywalling. He’ll have to keep a closer eye on Miss Priss in future. She is definitely still a pup, dragging things up to the house and chewing where she shouldn’t.

7:06pm
Off through the night to watch the Doctor Who christmas special in town with Everett. And eat bonbons.

PS man that rib meat was tasty! I ate a morsel half the size of my little finger. Fab.

2 thoughts on “A Night in Town

  1. I was scared for you and Emil too and kept watching the news and telling myself it wasn’t likely that Emil was a security guard at a week-long electronic musicfest.

    As for ribs, I’m not a fan but the only one in my extended family that isn’t. They do smell nice.

So whatcha thinkin'?

