Time of Year, Time of Night

In town, a lot of people already have their Christmas lights turned on as soon as it gets dark. Aunt Shirley asked if I had my tree up and I said there won’t be one because I couldn’t care less. She sounded disgusted. “What an old Scrooge!” she said. “You must be just like your dad.” Yep. And there’s nothing wrong with either of us.

At our house there isn’t a space for a tree without crowding everything. And what for? I’ll plug in my string of lights outside in the oak trees where they can be seen through the living room window. I’ll bring out my tiny origami Christmas tree and set it somewhere visible. That will do. But I did hang these stained glass ornaments up on the clock in the kitchen:

xmas-tree-ornaments-r

My kind of movie, one that I’d never before heard of and sat up till 1:30 a.m. to watch (it started at 11 and was on a channel with commercials; what was I thinking?): The Prizewinner of Defiance, Ohio. The film was released in 2005 and stars Julianne Moore as a sixties-era mother of 10 who earns extras (and sometimes just enough to pay the milkman) for her large family by entering jingle-writing contests. She also keeps a smile on her face and an optimistic, kind and loving attitude no matter what, in spite of a husband (played by Woody Harrelson) with the destructive habits of drinking too much and resenting her accomplishments. The weasel.

It’s based on a true story.

 

But when I finally crawled into bed it felt so good I said to myself, “This is practically the best part of my day! Why do I insist on leaving it so late, so often? If I’d missed this show, would it really have mattered? Nope. I’m going to smarten up.”

We shall see.

3 thoughts on “Time of Year, Time of Night

  1. I often feel just the opposite, as I seem to get along fine on 3 or 4 hours sleep. I’m just fooling myself though as I also often sleep in until 10:30 or so. I’m declaring this “life management “, and since self-control is unfamiliar to me, I’m going to like it.

  2. Your plans for Christmas decor sound inviting Kate. We feel differently every year about Christmas decorations. For the last few years it has been a fake 24″ tree, a few coloured lights inside the house, and a few dollar store baubles in the window. We plan to have a real tree this year, and we might even put up some outdoor lights.

    The neighbourhoods around us decorate in traditional ways. I love the lights. There is one house down the road that delights me. They use unusual garden ornaments, and so tastefully that I feel like I am walking by a subtle movie set when I pass the house on my walks. Right now their lovely metal sculpted turquoise stork, which stands in its own pretty little garden on the lawn, wears a small red Santa Hat, and a green and white “paper chain” necklace. It is so very simple, so very striking, and totally whimsical.

    “I don’t need you to make me happy, I just need you to leave me alone when I am.” quote from the trailer above
    AMEN
    The smallness of some men never ceases to amaze me!

  3. I liked that movie.

    I never understood why people stand in judgment of how everyone else chooses to celebrate (or not) Christmas. Why can’t it just be a matter of individual preferences?

So whatcha thinkin'?

